Peaceful Musings

We’re in the middle of Christmas vacation from school right now and I’ve been cleaning like crazy and getting rid of tons of stuff.  I was beginning to feel like we were being buried in clutter.  I haven’t completely figured out how to keep my house as clean as I used to with school and work and it was definitely showing.  But tonight, my house is clean again for the most part and I am loving it.  It’s so satisfying to see utter chaos turned into something neat and orderly. 🙂

Everyone is sleeping and the house is totally quiet except for the hum of the dishwasher and I decided to sit and enjoy it.  On a whim I turned all the lights out except for the holiday lights in our living room window and am sitting on the couch enjoying the peacefulness around me.  Everyone should string lights up in the winter I think, if just for this purpose. 🙂  It’s so peaceful and relaxing and they add such a touch of beauty to the early evenings.  I need to sit like this more often.  I think sometimes I get so caught up in the busy-ness of every day living that I forget to sit and relax and just enjoy the beauty around me.  I need this.  My soul needs it.

Leave a Reply

