Lilac Outlet Covers and Curtains

Do you remember how I made the lilac switch plates for my rooms?  Well, I also covered the outlets with the lilac fabric.  Here is how I did it:

First I cut a piece of fabric that was 1/2 an inch larger than the cover on all sides.  Then I drew some lines inside the openings where I would cut the fabric and fold it over.  Like this:

After cutting along the lines, I brushed Mod Podge all over the outlet cover and the wrong side of the fabric.  Being careful to remove all the bubbles, I smoothe out the fabric and folded the edges over and then let it dry.  Be careful about letting it dry on paper or saran wrap…it tends to stick and then you have to try to get it off afterward. 😐

Once it was dry I brushed Mod Podge over the outside of the fabric, let it dry and then brushed it again.

And now for a sneak peek of another project I recently did for my bedroom. 🙂  Matching lilac curtains:

Leave a Reply

