Lilac Switchplates

I’ve been completely redoing my bedroom lately.  I can hardly wait to show you everything.  It looks so nice.  But for now, I’m just going to show you some of what I’ve been working on and then when it’s completely done I’ll show you pictures of the whole room, okay?  One of the things I did this week was cover up my light switchplate.

I started by laying the switchplate on the fabric over the part of the design that I wanted.  Then I cut it out leaving an extra 1/2 inch on all sides.

Turning the fabric over I laid the switchplate on top of it and marked where I would need to cut the fabric for the switches to fit through and then cut along those lines.  It looked like this:   >—<

Then I trimmed off the corners so I could fold the fabric over without a lot of access fabric.  Using a foam brush I painted Mod Podge on the front of the plate and on the back of the fabric.  Then I pressed the fabric onto it and smoothed it all out.  I did the same for the back edges and along the holes for the switches, folding the fabric where needed at the corners.

Once it was dry I flipped it over and painted Mod Podge over the top.  I only did one layer but I’m considering on adding another just to smooth it out a little bit.  To cover the color of the screws so they wouldn’t stand out so much I used permanent markers.  I used a black marker on three of them and a purple marker on the other.  It looks nice!

Linked to All Thingz Related, Get Your Craft on Tuesday, and Made By You Mondays.

One thought on “Lilac Switchplates

Leave a Reply

