Decorative Jewelry Jar

I’ve been itching to play around with modge podge after all the crafts I’ve seen online using it.  So yesterday I decided to make my daughter a decorative jar for her bracelets.

I started out by mixing some modge podge with a few drops of red food coloring.

Using a paint brush I brushed the colored modge podge all over the jar and then dabbed it with a paper towel to give it some texture and left it to dry over night.  It was light colored when I first did it but then darkened up as it dried.

Next I took a picture of my daughter and cut it in a circle that would fit on the top of the cover.  I brushed a layer of modge podge on the cover and then on the back of the picture.   Then I pressed the picture onto the cover and left it to dry for a while.  Once it was dry I brushed modge podge over the top of the picture to protect it and wiped the side with a paper towel to remove the excess.  Once it dried I used a tube of glittery paint to decorate around the edge.

She really likes it! 🙂  The only thing I would do differently next time around is to put the cover on and mark where the front is because when I screw the cover on the picture is off to the side a little bit.

Linked to:  All Thingz Related, Get Your Craft On Tuesday, Tuesday Tell All, and Made By You Monday.

4 thoughts on “Decorative Jewelry Jar

Leave a Reply

